• Michael Klatt President and Chief Executive Officer

    Michael Klatt has served as President and Chief Executive Officer of The Lutheran Home Association (TLHA) for the past 14 years. He began his career with the organization in direct care in 1988 and also has been the chief operating officer, assistant to the CEO and community services director for TLHA. As President and CEO, he advances TLHA's Christian mission, vision, services and programs. He also works extensively with the families of children with special needs to plan for their spiritual, financial and long-term care needs.

    Michael earned his Master's degree in organizational leadership and a bachelor's degree in organizational studies from Bethel University in St. Paul, and holds a certificate in long-term care administration from the University of Wisconsin—Madison. He was appointed to Minnesota's Board of Aging by Governor Tim Pawlenty in 2006; he was re-appointed by the governor in 2010.

  • Chris Meyer Executive Vice President & Chief Financial/Business Officer

    Chris Meyer serves as executive vice president and chief financial/business officer. Chris leads the ministry’s financial and operations strategy, oversee financial operations, align and manage daily business and operations throughout the ministry.

  • Rev. Joel Gaertner Vice President of Ministry and National Director of Jesus Cares Ministries

    Rev. Joel Gaertner serves as Vice President of Ministry and National Director of Jesus Cares Ministries. He is responsible for the overall ministry and developing and monitoring the Jesus Cares Ministries programs in congregations. He also serves as the chairman of the WELS Commission on Special Ministries. He will collaborate with organization to advance TLHA ministry.

  • Mark Hayes Vice President of Mission Advancement

    Mark Hayes serves as Vice President of Mission Advancement. The mission advancement office supports our ministries mission and vision to share eternal hope, provide hope and inspire hope. Hayes’ responsibilities include developing and maintaining relationships, fundraising, managing mission advancement infrastructure and ministry outreach.

  • Beth Wadsley

    Beth Wadsley serves as Vice President of Human Resources. She plans, directs and carries out strategic policies relating to all phases of human resources activities, including primary responsibility for the staffing, compensation and employee benefits processes throughout The Lutheran Home Association.

  • Dawn Roberts

    Dawn Roberts serves as Director of Marketing and Communications. She is responsible for TLHA's brand as well as development and implementation of TLHA's marketing strategies, communications, fundraising, materials and plans. She oversees development and implementation of support materials and services. Dawn works closely with the facility executives, JCM leaders and other stakeholders.

  • Doyle Voss

    Doyle Voss is the Director of Information Technology, overseeing TLHA's technology needs. He manages the voice and data networks and other electronic technology for all of TLHA's locations and programs.

Board of Directors

Members of the Board of Directors are elected by the association of Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod and Evangelical Lutheran Synod churches that own and operate The Lutheran Home Association. Board members act as their representatives and provide oversight in the governing of the organization, and committees focus on specific aspects, such as spiritual care and financial performance. This Board meets regularly with the President and CEO and executive leadership to review the ongoing operation of the organization and to provide strategic direction for our ministry.

A Chair, assisted by a Vice Chair, Secretary and Treasurer, governs the Board.

  • Lowell Hoffman, Board Chair, Belle Plaine, MN
  • Rev. Matthew Rauh, Vice Chair, Arlington, MN
  • Tim Schuth, Treasurer, Plato, MN
  • Lance Schwartz, Secretary, Mankato, MN
  • Dr. Bruce Becker, Jackson, WI
  • Matt Burow, Milwaukee, WI
  • Rev. Elroy V. Conradt, Fountain City, WI
  • Jeff Davis, Lake Mills, WI
  • Jon Maertz, New Berlin, WI
  • Wayne Larson, Belle Plaine, MN
  • Rev. Michael Muehlenhardt, Cottonwood, MN
  • David Oldenburg, Fond du Lac, WI
  • Mark Schwan, Sioux Falls, SD